Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory logo and masthead Berkeley Lab New Employee Briefing

So far, twelve individual Nobel prize winners have worked at Berkeley Lab. Upon joining Berkeley Lab as Director in August of 2004, Steve Chu became our tenth Nobel Laureate. George Smoot received the 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics, and Saul Perlmutter received the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Mouse over an image to learn
more >

E. O. Lawrence Glenn Seaborg Edwin McMillan Owen Chamberlain
Emilio Segre Donald Glaser Melvin Calvin Luis Alvarez
Yuan T. Lee Steven Chu George Smoot III Saul Perlmutter